Try-a-New-Food Thursday: One-Pot Pasta

One time, in college, I was making dinner for some friends. I was distracted by socializing and cooking at the same time, or perhaps I was nervous about hosting dinner, or something, because I put the pot of water on to boil, dumped in the spaghetti, and then came back 8 minutes later to a pot of clumpy, sticky, slimy and yet uncooked pasta. I believe dinner ended with a box of mac’n’cheese that someone else took responsibility for preparing.

My desire to adhere to a “dump it all in together and cook” style of cooking is long-standing, then. This works really well with dump cakes, casseroles, and not much else. Recipes which require more than one mixing bowl don’t usually make it into my weekly repertoire. So you can image my delight when I saw this photo posted on a friend’s feed:

One Pot Pasta BEFORE

I had to investigate further. It looked like they had just dumped everything together into one pot…I hopped over to Apron Strings blog, and lo and behold, One-pot pasta! My dream come true! The recipe originally comes from Martha Stewart’s magazine, by the way.

So, I leapt in with both feet, making nothing else for dinner, not a single other dish, crossing my fingers that this would please kids and husband alike. Not that they are particularly picky. The kids, anyway.

Okay, so mine doesn’t look as pretty as theirs, but here it is, all prepped and pre-cooking:

Image

As always, I made some tweaks to the recipe. Here is what I did:

ONE POT WONDER TOMATO BASIL PASTA

Served 4 adults and 2 kids as an entree, with one serving left over (so, 7)

  • 16 ounces (1 box) Whole Wheat Spaghetti pasta
  • 1 can (15 ounces) diced tomatoes with liquid 
  • 1 large sweet onion, cut in julienne strips
  • 4 cloves garlic, thinly sliced
  • 1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes
  • 2 teaspoons dried oregano leaves
  • 8 large basil leaves, chopped
  • large handful of fresh parsley
  • 4 1/2 cups broth made from powdered chicken boullion
  • 2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil

Break the pasta in half, and dump in a large stock pot. Add tomatoes, onion, garlic, basil and parsley. Pour in chicken broth. Sprinkle on top the pepper flakes, oregano, and oil.

Cover pot and bring to a boil. Reduce to a low simmer and keep covered and cook for about 10 minutes, stirring every 2 minutes or so. 

It was so good. Really, it just worked–the broth boiled down into a nice sauce, the spices all worked together really well, and it was easy. Easy-peasy-lemon-squeezy, as the kids say.

One thought on “Try-a-New-Food Thursday: One-Pot Pasta

Leave a Reply

