Sleep

I had planned on making my spring break the time for getting the baby on a better sleep schedule. Which is to say, any sort of schedule at all. However, the flu (which I never usually get because I’m so good at getting the flu shot!) is really getting in the way of that plan.

In fact, the flu is really cramping my parenting. How can I yell at the kids when I have no voice? Now when they say, we didn’t hear you! they are actually right.

That said, I did feel well enough to sit outside in the sun! A mere three days after a snow day! And listen to the excited sounds of the kids playing with our backyard neighbor’s kids. The warm sun and fresh air were a welcome change from being cooped up in the sick house. I know we all will benefit from the thorough airing-out the house got from having all the windows open.

And it does my soul good to take those moments to be grateful that it’s only the flu, and it will pass soon enough, and extra grateful that the baby hasn’t gotten sick despite constant proximity to me. (Hoping I didn’t just jinx us…) I know there are so many people out there who would love to have a non-sleep trained baby or a simple case of the flu to worry about. So I know to be thankful for how good I’ve got it, missing voice and all.

Leave a Reply

