August, die she must

From April, Come She Will.

I’m a little bummed today. Although I still have a week before classes start, and two weeks before Turtle and Bug head off to school, summer feels well and truly over.

[Yes! Bug is going to school! I can’t believe it either. Only 2 days a week, mornings, and it’s a co-op. But, school! She’s excited, but I’m worried she thinks that she gets to go to school with Turtle…she will not be pleased when she realizes that isn’t the case.]

I am self-medicating with a big ol’ piece of chocolate cake. Not surprising, it’s not really making me feel better.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

On the way to work this morning, I heard the “Toes in the Water” song by the Zac Brown Band on the radio. It has quite a catchy tune, but when I started listening to the lyrics, I was more than a little disappointed:

Adios and vaya con dios/ A long way from GA
Yeah, and all the muchachas they call me “big poppa” when I throw / Pesos their way
Adios and vaya con dios / A long way from GA
Hey boss do me a favor and pass me the Jaeger / I’ll grab my guitar and play

Adios and vaya con dios / Going home now to stay
The senoritas don’t care-o when there’s no dinero / I got no money to stay
Adios and vaya con dios / Going home now to stay

Why is it entertainment to throw a little zenophobia and misogynism into a song? Why didn’t anyone involved with the production of the song–from the writers all the way to the record executives who approved it to the radio DJs playing it–stop for a moment and think, “Gee, this is really reinforcing some pretty negative stereotypes right here. Maybe we shouldn’t be involved in it or play it on our station.”

Granted, there are doubtless many, many worse songs out there in terms of pandering to really hateful stereotypes. My guess is that the majority just happen to be on stations I don’t much listen to, so they haven’t come to my attention lately. It’s just getting a little frustrating to have all the radio stations I do like to listen to playing music that I wouldn’t want to have to explain to my kids. Much less have to worry about the thousands of subtle ways that stereotypes about different groups of people are inculcated in their minds.

I *really* don’t want the only station I can safely have on be the Christian station.

Leave a Reply

