Where’s the love for working moms?

You might have noticed that I have added a blogroll to this page. I’ve just listed a few blogs that I enjoy.

What I didn’t include was all the mom-productivity-organization-homemaking blogs that I visit now and again. Although I do get lots of helpful tips from ladies like Rocks In My Dryer, SimpleMom, and many others, the one thing that makes me hesitate is that they are all writing from the point of view of stay at home moms. Now, I’m not one to give any credence to any kind of SAH vs. WOTH mom chasm. I think 90% of our concerns are exactly the same, and I’m always happy to hear about how my SAH mom friends have come up with a new menu planning exercise or chores schedule or how much they enjoy their MOPs group.

But I wonder, where are the working mom productivity tips? Without getting into any touchy areas, we working moms have a lot of homemaking things to do and not a lot of time at home to get everything done. It seems like a lot of the suggestions I hear are for “outsourcing”–get a nanny rather than taking kids to daycare, get a housekeeper once a week, have groceries delivered, have diapers delivered, go to one of those food preparation places and make 12 meals at once to pop in the freezer, get a mother’s helper to be there during the mad evening rush, find a college student to come in the mornings to take the kids to school…all great suggestions. If you fit into the small–and increasingly microscopic–demographic called “those with disposable income.” The assumption that, because you’re a two-income family, you have disposable income is my biggest problem with all these suggestions.

In a time–and location–where paying for preschool is a struggle, I know that there are plenty of families out there for whom two incomes is absolutely necessary to stay afloat, and there’s no wiggle room in the budget for any sort of outsourcing. And the unfortunate fact is that all the money-saving tips–like packing a lunch, bargin shopping, getting and selling clothes at consignment sales, making gifts, eating meals at home–all take more time away from spending time with your kids, much less planning elaborate meal preparation schemes, re-organizing the pantry, or *cough cough* vacuuming.

So, what can we do? Where are the resources for financially and time-strapped parents who have to work, can’t outsource anything, and still want to spend time with their kids?

Waiting for suggestions…

2 thoughts on “Where’s the love for working moms?

  1. Thanks for your comment! I think your site is great, really very helpful. For me, it’s then just a matter of translating great ideas into something workable for a working-outside-the-home homemaker! I’ll try to think of some more concrete ideas and leave you a comment (instead of just lurking ;). thanks!

Leave a Reply

