Our First Pee!

Yes, it’s true. For the first time, our little boy used the potty for what Fisher-Price intended.  I was so excited, I called daddy in to see. (He was rather more blasé about it.) I’m crossing my fingers that this could be the beginning of the end of diapers. It’s been increasingly more on my mind as his 3rd birthday approaches. Okay, it’s not till April. That’s approaching! Thus far he’s shown, shall we say, a decided lack of interest in the potty. Offers of “Would you like to sit on the potty?” are usually met with a firm no. “Would you like to wear big boy underpants?” sure, he’s all for that. As long as there’s no potty-sitting involved. We’ve been pretty laid-back about it, noting to ourselves that no one goes to kindergarten still in diapers. (Or is it, no one goes to college still in diapers?) This week, however, I attended the information night for a local preschool program, Montessori, which I’m incredibly excited about. The literature they passed out notes that all children must be potty-trained. Eeek.

Now, really, we have a full 6 months before school starts. By then he’ll be over 3 years old, surely he’ll show interest in using the potty by then. Nonetheless, I was determined to step up the training. And by “step up,” I mean actually start. So, last night we sat on the potty and read a book, nothing happened, but he was agreeable about the whole procedure, so I thought that was a good step in the right direction. Tonight we sit again, and we talked, and I didn’t think anything had happened, but lo and behold when he stands up, his little potty has a little deposit! Success!  Hallelujah! Our son won’t go to college in diapers!

I’ll keep you posted on how it goes…

Leave a Reply

